Well this is new.

I’ve always been a writer. I’ve always written little things on everything. Quotes I love, thoughts I have, lyrics that I can’t get out of my head. But I’ve never done something that feel so public like this. Sure, I  have plenty of journals lying around but there is some privacy in knowing that at least people know not to open them. Here, I’m sharing my thoughts for anyone to see-I must admit it is a little strange. However, I think this may help me and hopefully help others.

See, I was diagnosed with clinical depression and social anxiety disorder about six months ago, but honestly, I’ve probably been experiencing symptoms for quite some time now. I didn’t say anything though, because I am definitely not the type of person that people would think would have depression or anxiety-and now I have both! I’m the girl who sat in the middle of the lunch table in high school. While at college, I have found my place with a good group of friends. Why should I have anything to be depressed or anxious about? Well, I do and recently, I’ve come to the realization that there is nothing wrong with it. If I can help just one person realize that too, it would be amazing.

I don’t really know how to “blog” exactly, so if you’re reading this and it is just absolutely boring, I apologize. Hopefully, I’ll get better. But before I finish this up and leave you to ponder my life-changing comments (insert sarcasm here), I want to leave with you my favorite bible verse. Not because it is something that is super Christian or shows how amazing God is (even though he is) but because when I was in my darkest of days, it got me through it. This verse gave me something to aspire to and represented the type of woman I want to one day become. Now, I even carry it with me permanently on my ribs.

Proverbs 31:25 says “She is clothed in strength and dignity, and laughs without fear of the days to come.” There is hope in this verse that I hope you will one day share with me because no matter what background you come from, or what you have done, you can be strong and dignified and brave. These are qualities that I may not possess as of yet, but I am going to get there one day. If you aren’t there yet, I know you will too.

Keep to your roots,

Southern Charm

Leave a Reply

